How I Use My Mario Badescu Skin Care Kit

I used to be one of those people who just kind of splashed water on my face and then went on with life. But when I started getting into make up and really caring about how I presented myself to the world, I started to take my skin care a lot more seriously. I’d never had particularly bad breakouts, just little clusters of tiny pimples or black heads and white heads that spanned from cheek to cheek across my nose. Pretty light compared to what I saw some of my peers going through.

One thing I didn’t like was how perpetually oily my face would get. I’m talking about a greasy, shiny mess. I used to be so embarrassed about it I would only talk on speaker phone when people called me. Eventually I got tired of complaining about my skin and started trying to actively do something about it.

If you’re like me, then the whole skin care world is very confusing. You talk to doctors, you talk to the internet, you listen to other bloggers and you’re still confused. Which is why I’m thankful Mario Badescu has the skincare starter kits. When I went to Ulta there were three choices, Anti-Aging, Dry Skin, and Acne Prone. Since my oily skin is prone to breakouts should I use the wrong soap (which I have before) and it’s very sensitive I chose Acne Prone.

I start with the Acne Facial Cleanser, this is a chemical exfoliate and the first one I ever used. The starter kit comes with pretty tiny bottles, but for I found myself using a tiny amount and having promising results so don’t be discouraged by the price and the size of the product. I don’t recommend using more than a dime sized amount, it really can be stripping and your face needs its natural oils to maintain balance.

I move on then, to the Special Cucumber Lotion  which is a fresh smelling toner that really softens my skin up an readies me for the next part of my routine. There is a slight alcohol smell, but it’s very minimal and I found it didn’t try my skin out if I used a tiny amount. This is another product where a little can go a long way. I allow that to dry before moving on to the next part.

Once I’ve cleansed and toned I move onto the Oil Free Moisturizer It has SPF 17 and replaces some of the moisture I took away when I used the cleanser. This is typically my last step in the morning and my second to last step at night. Like the cleanser it doesn’t have a scent, and a little bit can go a long way.

Depending on the day, I’ll start with the Drying Mask that comes along with the kit. This is a face mask that absorbs any extra oils and shine you may have on your face. I’m really selective in when I use this, because it is so drying, but I love the results I get when I do use it.

If I have a pimple threatening to ruin my day, I use the Drying Cream. It’s very similar to the mask, but this is more of a spot corrector. You take a tiny bit on your finger tip and dot it on the spot that’s bothering you. Keep patting until it’s fully immersed in your skin, and then wash it off in the morning.

Using this routing has really helped me control the oil in my skin, learn a lot about what I do and don’t like in skin care, and figure out what works best for my skin. If you go overboard hoping for results, your probably gonna mess up your skin. Taking it slow and patch testing before putting anything on your face is the best route. Using a little bit at a time and building up is the best thing to do when putting anything on your skin. There’s only so much your skin can absorb and whatever it doesn’t just sits on top of your skin and makes you look greasy and shiny.

Leave a Reply

