Top Ten Books I Want to Read This Year

I have a confession. I’ve been holding back on starting a new series for so long I’ve turned to reading only fanfiction to save myself the heartbreak of waiting to read the entirety of a series. I just can’t take the stress of waiting and being left on a cliff hanger. Which is why I typically wait until a show has started on season two before watching it, or waiting until a movie has gone to DVD before trying to see what all the hype is all about.

This habit often leads to me being pretty much behind the curve when it comes to pop culture, but I don’t mind too much. While you guys are eagerly awaiting a new episode on your favorite t.v. show, I’m finished up season eight on a show that ended two years ago.

Now though, I need to get with the times and get back to reading books the same way I used to. Starting with this list of ten books I want to read this year.

  • Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I kinda already did this one, but it makes the list regardless. I kept seeing it everywhere I looked and every #bookstagram post I saw had this book on their shelves and I was like, “I gotta see what the hype is about!” If you wanna read my review of this actually pretty good book, you can click here.

  • The Basic Eight by Daniel Handler

This is the guy who wrote A Series of Unfortunate Events, a book that has captivated me for the majority of my young life. I’ve desperately searched high and low for a book that has that same kind of tone that ASoUE does so well. Well, I was stalking Handler’s Goodreads account and I read somewhere that one of the characters from this book makes an appearance in another book of his. I have to check it out for myself.

  • The IHOP Papers by Ali Liebegott

Do I need explain? There’s IHOP in the title. I freaking love IHOP.

  • Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Would you believe me if I told you I’d never read anything by Neil Gaiman, like ever. I’ve seen the film adaptions of his work, Coraline especially. I loved the movie, my little sisters loved the movie, we’d watch it on repeat together during quality time. I really want to read the book after basically watching the movie into the afterlife and back. Who knows, I might even post a review.

  • School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins

I read the first book in this series, and I never got a chance to read the following books. Not finishing that series is like an itch I can’t reach in the middle of my back. It’s annoying.

  • Cress (The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer

Again, this book is an itch I can’t scratch. I  read Cinder and immediately fell in love. Cinderella has been my favorite fairy tale since I was a fetus. Cyborg-Cinderella set in Asia? With an Asian prince? Please. I was in there. Scarlet was more of a disappointment, just being honest. But I read that and I really wanna finish the series.

  • Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

Scott Westerfeld made me fall in love with his Uglies series, he was my first introduction to young adult Sci-Fi dystopia, and his novels pretty much dominated my thoughts. When I heard about this new novel I was really intrigued. It’s taking the teenage super hero genre and doing something new. I can’t wait to read it.

  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This is a book that I keep hearing about. I can’t go on Tumblr without seeing at least a hundred or so aesthetic posts with quotes from this book in it. I’m honestly intrigued as to what this book could be about and how I’ll like it.

  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman

This another movie adapted book that I’m chomping at the bit to read. I LOVED the movie adaption of this book. I loved the world, the integration of witches and traditional fairy tale tropes, the eventual ending, Henry Cavill’s awful blond goat tee. I watched this movie so many times my aunt hid it from me so I wouldn’t torture the family any more.  But I just love it so much. It stands to reason I’ll like the book just as much.

  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

This is another book I’ve seen a lot of on Tumblr and Twitter alike, but just never got around to reading. I’m really interested in what all the hype is about, and looking forward to starting a new series.

Are there any books you guys are interested in reading this year?

Leave a Reply

