February Faves

SO! I was going to do a January Faves, I’ve seen other bloggers and YouTubers doing it and I thought, “Why not? I like things too.” But of course what actually happened was that became I got super busy juggling work and school and then it was like, “January Who?”

But that’s all in the past now. We’re nearing March, which just so happens to be my birth month *happy dance*, so I might as well start now. If I had a crest and a coat of arms my family motto would probably be, “Better late than never.” I’m always having these ideas and then when it comes to enacting them I always chicken out. Or they’re time sensitive posts and I don’t actually start working on them until weeks later.

Case in point: I currently have a book review in my drafts that’s complete and edited, I just haven’t posted it yet.

No more! I actually have a few standout items that have really made this February spectacular so why shouldn’t I talk about them? Like my Valentine’s gift from my boyfriend, a lip tint I bought myself in a moment of weakness at the mall, etc. I could get into more but then what reason would you have to read the rest of this post? So in no particular order, here are my favorites for the month of February.

SZA- Drew Barrymore.

Okay so this is the first song I’d ever heard from this artist, and I immediately fell in love. I’m currently making my way through her first album and I can tell I’m already a fan. She really fits into the kind of music I’ve really been into lately. Beautiful, unique vocals, meaningful/catchy lyrics. She has the R&B root that I grew up on while also adding her own personal, quirky touches.

The song itself is about SZA feeling insecure in her relationship with an unreliable person. It really fits the mood I’ve been in as of late as well. I’ve been battling with my self esteem and trying to figure out what path I want to take into adulthood, and this song really encapsulates that feeling. If you wanna give her a listen I highly recommend this single and her first album.

Long Lasting Colour Lip Marker (and a buddy)

I feel like my lips are my best feature so I try to take really good care of them. I’m really really picky about what kind of lip balm I use, and I can’t stand the feeling of lip gloss or liquid matte lipsticks on my lips. I just don’t like the sticky sensation of gloss, or the drying sensation of liquid matte lipsticks. I’m sure out there somewhere there is a liquid matte lipstick that doesn’t make my lips look like old orange slices, but I have yet to find it.

I recently got really into Kbeauty and their use of lip tints and lip stains was like a dream come true. From what I gathered (before buying my own) was that lip tints and stains are a light weight way to put a pop of color on your lips. I’d already tried glosses and matte lipsticks and I wanted something I could wear and not worry about.

I still wanted to do more research before taking the dive and investing in a lip tint I still wasn’t one hundred percent I’d actually enjoy, but I ended up walking into one of those Kiko Milano stores while shopping with Jason for my Valentine’s day present. I just wanted to pop in right quick to see what they had on sale and next thing I know I’m buying a lip tint and a sheer plum colored lipstick that honestly spreads like butter across my lips.

The lip tint is this rich, berry red and it comes in marker form, which I appreciated. I had to wear it immediately and Jason, who’d been off browsing somewhere else, looked so stunned when he saw me wearing it. He likes it, I like it, and it’s quite honestly something I’d wear all the time if I didn’t want it to last until I could buy a replacement.

The Mario Badescu Acne Starter Regimen Kit

If you follow me on Instagram, you’d know that Jason and I went shopping for my Valentine’s gift at Ulta. I never actually revealed what I got, mostly because I wanted to save it for this post, but since using it I want to tell every body.

The regimen kit comes with an Acne Facial Cleanser, a Special Cucumber Lotion, an Oil free Moisturizer, and a Drying Mask. Plus, a bonus Drying Cream for pimples under the skin. I was skeptical at first, I knew I needed a exfoliator to get rid of all these blackheads, I needed something that would add moisture to my face without making it oily. I also knew I had on idea what products did what so I decided to go with my gut.

Let. Me. Tell. You. This stuff is amazing. First night using it I noticed that the Acne Facial Cleanser made the blackheads covering the tops of my cheeks disappear. I hadn’t felt any roughness from those beads that most companies put in their exfoliators. This little cleanser was my first experience with a chemical exfoliant. I used a tiny amount and it really went a long way.

I can go on and on, but I feel I should save that for another post. I could do my full routine and everything.

Sex with Kings: 500 Years of Adultery, Power, Rivalry, and Revenge

When my life became very hectic, I took a break on reading books. I used to be able to sit for hours, whole days, reading book after book until my mother took my flashlight away and I could only read during the daytime. Then the demands of high school, college, and now my job keeps me from enjoying a good sit down with a book.

In the New Year I decided I wanted to read more books. So I started a challenge on Goodreads, and I’ve been trying to read at least two books a month. My most recent book, is by Eleanor Herman and I’m in love!

It details a good five hundred years of history about royal mistresses and their kings. It hops all over the place when it comes to mistresses, but it always sticks to one topic per section.  It’s interesting and illuminating and something I’ve wanted to read for a really long time.

Prostitution is one of the oldest professions and this book details women going as far back as the sixteenth century. They were cunning and beautiful, sometimes homely but witty. Not all of them were beautiful, not all of them lasted that long, and most of them weren’t supposed to be acknowledged by history at all.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I’m gonna see if I can get more of Herman’s work. She has other history books dedicated to the sex lives of kings and queens and I can’t wait to read them all.

So, there you have it; my February Favorites. Let me know in the comments what were your favorites for the month and if you can, tell me of a book you read recently that you really liked.

 

 

One thought on “February Faves

Leave a Reply

