Knowing When to Quit

So I don’t know about you but I feel like this challenge has been going pretty well. Aside from a few late posts and maybe a couple of redundancies, I’ve kept up well with the one post a day challenge. This is why it pains me to say that I’m going to have to end this challenge a whole two weeks early.

It’s not like I haven’t been enjoying myself, I honestly have. This challenge has given me time to figure out the direction I want to take this blog, work on future posts, and gain new readers. This is essentially what I set out to do in the first place. When I started this challenge I had about three posts up, no real direction, and writers block. I knew that I wanted to blog, I’ve always wanted to blog, but I didn’t know what I wanted to blog about.

Why should I expect you guys to read my words when I don’t know, like, or enjoy what I’m talking about? I was so afraid of making a blog that was just like everyone else’s that I wasn’t writing anything. I kept reading other blogs and having them tell me that I needed to have a “niche” to be successful, I needed a “niche” for people to find my blog and stick with my blog. I kept looking for my niche and thinking that I couldn’t start writing until I found it and it was all so counterproductive.

I’m a multifaceted person. I don’t focus on one thing in my day-to-day life, why would I make my blog about just one thing? Sure the challenge was all about getting my work out there and having you guys get to know me, but it wasn’t all that I wanted to do, it wasn’t all I wanted to write about.

So, from now on, I’m going to be posting things I want to see on my blog. Maybe I’ll do another challenge. Maybe I won’t. But now that I do know exactly what I want to do, I doubt I’ll be posting any challenges for a while.

I’m still working out a posting schedule, something that will give me time to edit and research to my heart’s content. But I’m excited for the future of this blog and I hope you are too.

Leave a Reply

