A Habit I Wish I Didn’t Have

Look at me being all self-aware. Yesterday I posted about all the ways a human could get themselves karate chopped in the neck by me because of their bad habits, and now I’m talking about my bad habits.

So yesterday in this* post I talked about five of my pet peeves and bad habits I hate seeing, so it’s only fair I talk about five habits I wished I never had. No one can never accuse of me of being oblivious to my faults now.

I Talk Before I Think

I just have so much to say! I have so much to talk about and share! But this habit get’s me into trouble more often than not. What’s that saying, “Don’t let your mouth cash checks your body can’t pay?” Or something like that. Basically I always have something to say, and I hardly ever know what’s going to come out of my mouth before it actually comes out of my mouth. Which can lead to some hilarious jokes, or to me offending someone with my unintentional insensitivity.

I’m Terrible at Communicating

This is something that really bothers me, because it’s hard to explain to people without being offensive that I just don’t want to talk to them. I don’t mean that I’m mad at you or I think you’re boring, I just mean I don’t want to talk to you. I text and call maybe three people pretty frequently, and even then they’re mostly function conversations. Like plan making or coordinating meet ups and our schedules. For some reason I just can’t get into texting just to text.

For me, I don’t need to talk to you every day to have you in my thoughts or consider you a friend. We can go months, years, of not talking, and I’ll still answer any text and be down to set up a time to hang out. I’m always going to be your friend, whether we saw each other yesterday or six months ago. I’m just terrible at texting people.

I’m Oblivious

I’m really oblivious, and as “on top of it” as I may seem, I’m really confused at least 80% of the time. I hate this because it’s so easy to trick me or confuse me. I just space out and then when I ask for clarification people think I’m trying to be “funny”.

So let’s just clear the air right here right now: IF I SAY “HUH?” OR “COULD YOU REPEAT THAT?” IT’S USUALLY BECAUSE I DIDN’T HEAR YOU OR I WASN’T FOLLOWING THE CONVERSATION!!!!!

It’s especially annoying because it affects my dating life. In this* post I talked about how my boyfriend and I had basically been dating a month before I even realized what was going on. Once, a person tried to scam some money out of me for a job, and it took my boyfriend telling me it was  scam before I thought that it was so fishy that the interview was for a reputable  Long Beach company that I’d never even heard of before. So yeah, excuse my obliviousness.

I’m Always Late

This one I can only solve by being an hour early for everything. I just overestimate the rest of the human race. I think, “Well it only takes thirty minutes to get from my house to my job. There’s no way it’s traffic at 3 o’clock on the freeway, I can totally make it.” And then I’m sitting for an hour in bumper to bumper traffic, calling my boss apologetically.

It’s my cross to bear, I know.

I’m Terrible at Keeping to the Plan

A friend and I can make a plan weeks in advance and I’ll find some reason to cancel. Either I’m tired, like really, really tired, or we made plans when I was feeling up to going out all day and then I woke up in a mood.

The best way to make sure I follow through on a plan, is to tell me the day before. And even there’s still the chance that I’ll cancel.


There you have it, my five bad habits. I’m sure my friends think I’ve missed a few but this isn’t their blog so they don’t get a say! But like I said before, my pet peeves don’t mean I think I’m without fault. No one’s perfect and acknowledging some of your more annoying or “negagtive” traits is a good way to stay honest with yourself.

Let me know all about your annoying habits with a comment.


(I listened to F**k You by Lily Allen while writing this post)
Leave a Reply

