Where Will I Be In 10 Years

If you know me, then you know I’m an impulsive planner. Once I decide on something my brain comes up with ways to make it happen, scenarios that will arise should this thing or that thing come up, and fun dialogue one might see in a RomCom. If you listen to my friends they’ll say it’s endearing but a little annoying to hear me plan how play dates will work between our kids, what my house will look like, or the book tours I someday want to go on.

But I can’t help it, it’s in my nature. I have to plan for every scenario, have to give thought to every little possible situation in the event that it happens. So far those things have never happened, but that’s besides the point. What matters is that it’s a good way to pass the time, and a fun activity to do when your worried your iPhone will die.

I’ve given quite a lot of thought to where I plan to be when I grow up, or in this case, ten years. Sometimes I imagine myself living unattached and lost in a beautiful city like Seoul, Korea or Paris, France. Sometimes I see myself living with my boyfriend (who I mentioned in this* post) in an apartment in Downtown LA. He’s a chef working his way up the line at a restaurant and I’m a writer/photographer/model/actress…. You get it.

The point is, I don’t have anything concrete at the moment. I’m not worried, and if you don’t have anything planned you shouldn’t worry either. Not everyone has their life planned out.

But since, this is a part of the 30 Day Challenge, I’ll try to come up with something worth reading.

First things first, I’m my own boss. Working minimum wage has taught me a lot about myself. Like the fact that I hate working in customer service. It’s like the second people think the have power over you (because their the customer and you’re the employee) they turn into total assholes. I’ve been yelled at, cussed out, and downright disrespected because of the fact that I worked somewhere they were patronizing.

The sad part is that because businesses are inherently profit driven, your boss will take the side of the customer. Which does awful things to you mentally because you have this mindset of, “If I say  something about this/defend myself/ report this/etc, I could lose my job.”

I’m living with my boyfriend comfortably in an apartment. I love my boyfriend, and I can see myself happily spending the rest of my life with him. We’ve already been through so much together and I feel like moving in to together is the next part of our relationship. We are currently in a situation where the generosity of family is the only thing keeping us off the streets. But we’re not taking that kindness as a free pass to never grow up and move out. We have plans to give back to our families as soon as we’re fiscally able. But first, we need to move out.

I’ve published at least two of books. If this blog wasn’t clear, I’m a writer. I’ve been writing almost nonstop since I was twelve and I’ve dreamed about being a published author. I want my words, my books, to reach out to the girl I was when I was younger. I want to touch the lives of people like me. I want to be their hope, their reason for not giving up. Because I’ve fought hard to get here, and I’m gonna fight hard to get to where I want to be in ten years and beyond. Sometimes people need to see that someone else went through what they did and made it, to have hope that they will too.

I can help my family out. Times are hard. Times have been hard for so long. Long before I even realized. My mom worked hard so that I never saw how much she struggled to support our family. She made sure every birthday, every Christmas, every Thanksgiving was as bountiful as the last. Even when financially we couldn’t afford it. I want to give my mother everything she gave me. I want to help her. In ten years I want to be in a place that makes it possible to do that.

There you have it, where I will be in ten years. It’s short and sweet but never fear, we have  a whole 28 more posts to go. I feel like I’ve met the challenge. In the comments let me know where you will be in ten years.

(I wrote this post while listening to Rise by Katy Perry, Covered by SuperFruit, etc.)
One thought on “Where Will I Be In 10 Years

Leave a Reply

